top of page

For my sister.

Dear sister, I know by nature I'm bolder than you. I know I've taken on the role of big sister multiple times throughout our life despite being three years younger. I stayed up when Mom and Dad were gone so you could go to bed knowing someone was awake in case danger were to show up. I grabbed your hand and found a phone when we needed out of a bad situation. I've stood up for you more times than I can count. I know I'm not done taking on that role, and I wouldn't want to be. Nothing could change who we were born to be. No one taught me to be opinionated or fearless or unapologetically myself no matter what anyone says or thinks. No one taught you to want the approval of others or to be cautious or to giggle loudly when something makes you happy. Certain things would be as they are no matter the circumstance. But something I need you to know- I watched you. I watched you change your hair 15 times every morning because you wanted it to be just right, and I decided that that amount of effort was more than I was willing to give so I wore my hair in a ponytail nearly every day. I watched you struggle in math yet never quit trying so I decided I'd be a math teacher and help other kids whose effort was greater than their skill set. I watched you cry because people are mean, and I decided to never give mean people's actions a second thought. I watched you cheer on the sidelines and decided that a tomboy who liked tools and basketball could do that, too. I watched you read your bible and drive me to Sunday school. I watched you clean out my closet and cook me spaghetti. I watched you include the kids at school who weren't even kind of as popular as you. I watched you come home in the middle of the night from a party because things were happening that you didn't want to be a part of. I watched you stand silently while people made fun of you, never even considering a different response. I watched you wear a purity ring. I watched you cry when you said a bad word because you felt so convicted. I watched you mess up. I watched you bounce back. I watched you pour your heart and soul and time into other people's kids. I watched you trust, wrestle with, and cling to Jesus. I watched you clean my house after I had a baby. I watched you show strength that surprised us all when I got cancer and Pawpaw died. I watched you comfort me and understand me and validate me when I needed it most. I watched you watch me with pride, envy, and joy in your eyes when I did things you were too timid to do. My actions may look like that of an older sister at times, but you dear sister have effortlessly been the epitome of what a big sister is supposed to be. I watched you, and it allowed me to become a better me. 

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page